Hello, from PDX

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Diane Moore
    Participant

Hi All,

I’m Diane and I’m new to CNS. I started on May 31st at 344 lbs and have had 2 carb nites(Saturdays). The inital water drop was nice and now, as expected, things have slowed down. I don’t know how fast I’m supposed to be losing, so I guess slow is good. Current weight 333 (lowest was on Saturday before Carb Nite 331). Oh, I guess height and age relevant, I’m 5’6″ and 50 years old.

As dumb as this may sound, I’m a little worried, I’m not getting enough food.

My average macros are Fat=106g, Protein=105 and >30g carbs. But that only comes out to less than 1500 calories a day. I know I need a deficit and that’s fine, I’m not hungry, but I don’t want my body going into starvation/eat all the muscle mode either. I’m not really doing exercise at this point; sadly, moving through life is exercise for me.

Am I fine and worrying for nothing? Or should I be pushing myself to eat a little more? What should I be aiming for?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts, insights, and expertise.

Steve Cauffiel
    Participant

Yeah I don’t think that’s nearly enough – though I’m not sure/confident on how much higher you should go either. I’d think you’d be better off with the semi-kinda-informal rule of thumb of .8g of fat and protein per pound of body weight for a start. You’re down there at the .3g per pound right now and I don’t think that’s gonna be anywhere near optimal. As you drop weight you can re-evaluate and possibly try 1g of fat/.5g of protein per pound of body weight or vice versa (1g protein/.5g fat) to see how you respond; some people do better with one versus the other but it takes experimentation to figure that out.

And there’s no real need for exercise at this point though simple short regular walks might help in other regards for your health.

Hopefully others will chime in. Stick to it, it’ll happen. šŸ˜‰

Steve

Makoto Tomizawa
    Participant