How do RMR & RER fit with CNS?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Badier Velji
    Participant

Hi gang,

I’ve been doing CNS for around 2 months with minimal positive results. I feel like I was seeing better results with nutritional ketosis, but I am also a super impatient person, so I’m trying to stick it out.

Before you ask, no, I don’t count my macros because it creates a really unhealthy mental relationship for me with food. But, I do keep my carbs low, likely between 20 and 40g/day. I do my best not to eat like an asshole on my carb nite.

Medical conditions include subclinical hypothyrodism, severe brain fog, IBS-D, overactive immune system (not autoimmune, just lots of mild allergic reactions and intolerances).

Ok, when I started this journey, I had some metabolic testing done. The DEXA scan showed that I am at 35% bodyfat at 218lbs, 5’6″, with an estimate of 130lbs of lean body mass. It also estimates my RMR at 1629. However, I then did an actual RMR breath test, and that returned an RMR of 2362. I find this to be far more reasonable, as I do have a decent amount of muscle mass, and looking at pictures, I’d estimate I’m closer to 28-30% BF.

Using a Fitbit Charge HR, my daily caloric burn seems to average around 2700, which is a lot for me. With CNS, what’s a smart deficit to achieve?

Additionally, my RER was .91, indicating that I’m a 30% fat burner, 70% carb burner at rest. Granted, this testing was 5 days in to the orientation period, and I imagine that’s shifted slightly, but how does that ratio fit in with energy use on an ULC diet?

I know that’s a lot to comment on, but I could really use some insights and encouragement.
    Thanks!

Robert Haas
    Participant