21s for shoulders

• This topic has 5 voices and 6 replies.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Shannon
    Keymaster

I'm a total newb which I am sure I'm about to make perfectly clear … I downloaded the Shockwave Protocol in the Gain app. First movement is "21s for shoulders". I YouTubed/Googled this movement, but the videos I'm seeing don't appear to match what this (very fast moving) animated image is doing in the Gain app. According to Shockwave, what is a 21s for shoulders?I think the Shockwave Protocol needs a glossary via a PDF or videos to explain the movements listed within. Is that asking to be babied too much?Maybe I'll just do 5-3-1 or Starting Strength. Bummed because the app seems cool. I grew up on cardio and am a novice lifter and only really know basics (dealift, squat, bench, press and a few Oly lifts).

thezukiman
    Participant

If you are new to lifting I would just start with the basics…squats, bench, dead lifts, (the big 3) and maybe overhead press. I honestly wish this is all I would have done at first to build a good foundation, instead of trying every new 'cool' exercise I found in the bodybuilding magazines.Not sure what 21s for shoulders are, as I have never done them (I basically still just do the big 3). If you still want to try them, I would just do a front, side and then bent over dumb bell raises w/ seven reps each position back to back.5-3-1 would be a great fit. The program helped my strength a lot and put some quality mass on me.Hope that helps.-Z

Igor Vidovic
    Participant

21s for shoulders usually consist of 7 reps of:Front raisesLateral raises Reverse flysAll done in one set. At least this is how my football coach showed me years years ago

training log
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yQ7u-n9iU7R910fUgcAEo5NJoUZzT3w1zLC5qYyaGZE/edit#gid=1795865688

ChetSteadman
    Participant