CJ84’s Introduction

• This topic has 3 voices and 7 replies.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

CJ84

Hello all! I've just purchased Kiefer's Carb Back Loading Carbon Edition and figured as I intend to lurk around here and pick Kiefer's brain and gleam your collective wisdom I best introduce myself so you know who is perving on your posts!  ;D My background is kinda long winded but right now I am just out of my PhD and am currently finishing my Thesis (Skin Cancer therapy field). I'm a total information junkie, especially when it comes to nutrition, endocrinology, health and human performance - which is what really attracted me to Kiefer's book- its rooted in science and this guys really knows what he's talking about! I'm very much looking forward to applying the knowledge in the CBL protocol!As far as my training background goes I started out as a 100/200m sprinter and dabbled in middle distance ( I have some freaky assed genetics - bone structure of a cross country runner, muscle fibres of a sprinter) and started my obsession with weight training and nutrition through conditioning work for the sprints. I've never really been interested in getting big, due to the need to keep a particular condition for the sprints but I 'bulked up' a whopping 3kg to improve my weight to power ratio and floated around the 55-60kg mark ever since (ridiculously skinny I know). I left the sprinting behind due to my schedule on the PhD but kept the weights up and during that time it was suggested by a work mate and former powerlifting champ, after seeing some of my lifts, that I give a PL meet a go. What started as a bit of a laugh (a skinny 55kg 5'5 guy doing a Powerlifting meet looks hilarious) ended up as an interesting 'career change' after it went quite well. I've done a few competitions since, when time allows and am hoping to get back into it properly now my lab work is all out of the way. I dont pretend to know half of what most of the guys like Kiefer know