Dealing with people who just don’t get it….

• This topic has 9 voices and 16 replies.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Hello everyone,My friends and family know I have always been into working out even when I did hit a bit of a skid a few years ago and drinking and partying was a regular routine as well. I don't regret any of that time but it amazes me that most of my friends have such a hard time of me letting that go when it only last roughly a year and half and I have been lifting weights and what not for 11 years. They have a hard time with my only drinking once or twice a month and even then 2-3 beers I am done. I don't push anything I do on other people. In fact I have learned not to really comment even if they are talking about working out unless I am asked. I keep my mouth shut because arguing with people who are wrong is often more of a fight than arguing with people who know what they are talking about.I purposely try to avoid alienating myself due to diet and what not, but its gotten to the point that if I decide to go hangout and I am not slamming beers with them they want to constantly to talk about why I am not drinking. God forbid you watch any sporting event without a case of beer and transfat filled foods! I also have the friends who are filled any and all excuses that "want to work out" but___insert excuse here___ For example a friend of mine is doing a everyday weight less squat challenge that she seen on FB. She was saying how here legs are strong and she doesn't need to use free weights because she's constantly bending and moving at work all day..... Here is my thought... Obviously its not working!!! And it is not enough!!!One of my friends was telling me Saturday night he feels awful and looks like shit..Come Sunday morning.... You want to come by and play beer pong and grill out?(And were not talking about good sources of meats here lol) Maybe I should start talking to them why they need to stop drinking and eating li