Distance running

• This topic has 4 voices and 11 replies.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

bmill027
    Keymaster

Apologies if this topic has been addressed somewhere in the forums already – I'm just getting started here! I'm curious what kind of effects distance running would have on the CBL program. I'm participating in a a high-altitude half marathon and need to put miles on and am wondering if it would fit in. My back-load days are my lifting days and the running would be my 'off' days. Anyone have an opinion on the matter or can point me in the right direction? Thanks a ton! Can't wait to start this!-Ben

Damon Amato
    Participant

I think the only direction we might point you is back towards the weight room.  I'd very interested to see how your energy levels are while doing such long runs while going ULC though.  I doubt you'll get much advice for shear fact that very few people on this forum run for more than 30 seconds at a time.

It could slow down progress, both with fat loss and muscle gain.You'd want to just go ULC on day's that you do distance running, the day after backloading would be smart so you'd have full glycogen stores to use.What I'd recommend is having 1 distance day a week, and use the other days working HIIT sprints, something like 400-800 dash, it will bring your conditioning up and allow you to run and sub-maximal HR while accessing fat store for energy for a longer period of time.

bmill027

So it looks like I'm going to be a guinea pig. Sounds good to me!  Do you have any suggestions for alterations in the CBL program to better fit what I'm doing? I'm presently happy with my weight and fairly happy with my strength so I would have been doing the strength accumulation track. Also, I planned on only doing one (progressively) longer run each week to get my legs underneath me for it. The other two cardio sessions will be the HIIT I'm already doing.