Greetings from Germany

• This topic has 1 voice and 1 reply.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Raegten
    Keymaster

Hey Guys,just wanted to write a couple of lines about the newest member on this forum.My name is Jens, I am from Germany, thirty years old and work as a high school teacher. I've always been active and spent most of my time outdoors, hiking, rock climbing, riding my mountain bike etc. until at some point during college I came across World of Warcraft which I played religiously for about three years. Suffice it to say that during that time I got a little out of shape... Then about three years ago I started lifting weights and followed Jim Wendler's 5/3/1 pretty much from that start after realizing that the "trainers" in my gym had next to no idea what they were prescribing their clients... I took my lifts from non existent to a 115kg Bench, 150kg Squat, 160kg Dead and 70kg Military Press - I know - nothing to brag about but it's a start. All the while my approach to diet has been quite simplistic - eat high quality food, preferably locally grown and seasonal and avoid processed stuff most of the time. The past year however has been pretty eventful for me (finished teacher-training, started working full-time, bought a house, became father, ...) thus diet and training have really only played a minor role. Anyways now that my life starts to be somewhat more ordered and predictable I want to get back into training and watching my diet more closely. Me big goal is to get into good enough shape to take part in a GNBF (German Natural Bodybuilding Federation) amateur competition in the 75kg class either this fall or next spring. I currently weigh 78kg and would guestimate my bf at somewhere around 15-20% (see attached pictures). So my plan is to diet down and lower bf to single digit value first (using the strategies laid out in CN with an intermittent fasting approach - I hate breakfast... - and incorporating more HIIT cardio, kettlebel