New to CNS

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

mankind72
    Participant

Hello to all. I am new to CNS, and my first Carb Nite is on Saturday. I have been low carb/ketosis now for a year or so and have lost a around 55 lbs. I am 43 years old, 6’1 187 lb stay at home dad with 2 kids and my only form of exercise is soccer (1.5 hrs) a couple of times a week. My goal like many people is body composition. I would like to lose the extra layer of body fat in the abdominal area as well as the upper body while conserving muscle. I was wondering what would be ideal regarding when to schedule Carb Nites to maximize my efforts in regards to the nights I play soccer and how much protein to consume during the protein/fat days?
    Any helpful information will be greatly appreciated.

Sam

Steve Cauffiel
    Participant

Were it me I’d have my CN the night before a soccer gig, and then have another soccer gig the next day or second day later. I.e. CN on Sunday, soccer Monday and Tuesday or Monday and Wednesday. Kind of like doing HIIT after CN; burn up that glycogen as soon as you can.

Steve

mankind72
    Participant

Thanks Steve! Any thought on the protein question?

Steve Cauffiel
    Participant

I’d pick one of the two to start out with: .8g of fat and 1g of protein per pound of lean body mass – OR – flip that and do 1g of fat and .8g of protein per. Pick one and stick it out for at least four weeks to see how you’re trending. If you’re not losing much then flip-flop and try the other. I have better results with higher fat than protein, but that’s not the same for everyone and requires some testing.

S.

mankind72
    Participant

thanks Steve! I have not been tracking my macros, but kind of have a feel of were they are. I’m wondering if my carbs are at 5%, and really high fat and almost as much protein.