Took 4 minutes off my 2.5 mile run???

• This topic has 5 voices and 8 replies.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

raisethebarbell
    Keymaster

I am not sure what to think right now, I'm confused actually. I am a newbie to low carb performance so…I just ran my 2.5 mile loop through my neighborhood in 23 minutes and 10 seconds. Not blistering at all I know, but it is 4 minutes faster than my previous attempt that I made before I started CNS.I've been on CNS for 5 weeks now, doing Shockwave regularly, and hill sprints when I can.I know it's taboo to do steady state cardio, but I wanted to see what would happen. I have felt the Hulk Factor while lifting about 4 times now, and love it! But to be honest I didn't expect that to translate into bettering my time by 4 minutes on my first try.So many things are running through my head right now, how did I not know this before, do all athletes feel this way when they run, why am I not breathing hard, why am I not all phlegmy and coughing, and on and on.I am almost pissed that I didn't know all this was possible sooner in my life.If anyone is reading this and wondering if they should start any of these protocols, if they can still perform on 8 grams of carbs (how much I had all day before my run) please know that it is possible. The energy levels feel different than when on carbs, much more sustained and even, much more reliable, if that makes sense. I'm still trying to figure it out, could I have pushed more, where is my new breaking point. Its unreal!Anyways thanks to Kiefer, Naomi and all the regulars on these boards. I am ecstatic.

Brandon D Christ
    Participant

Well you lost weight from the diet and probably improved cardiovascular function from the HIIT so it isn't that surprising. 

Jeffrey Hansen
    Participant

I went from a 7:55 mile average to a 6:50 average over a 2.7 mile run.  Same feelings.  Love it

raisethebarbell