Basic question about lifting techniques

• This topic has 7 voices and 6 replies.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

reachy

Need some guidance on how to bench, DL, squat and shoulder press properly.  I'm self-taught (i.e. I just lift stuff), lift solo because of my lifestyle, have no in-the-gym mentors/coaches, and am pretty much making it up as I go along.  Can anybody recommend any youtube videos that might guide me?  I realise I could find them myself but I have no idea what's good and what's bad.Thank you in advance.

maxwkw

I'd check out the elitefts “so you think you can bench” and “so you think you can squat” series' on YouTube When you find those you'll probably also find some deadlift technique tips too.

Need some guidance on how to bench, DL, squat and shoulder press properly.  I'm self-taught (i.e. I just lift stuff), lift solo because of my lifestyle, have no in-the-gym mentors/coaches, and am pretty much making it up as I go along.  Can anybody recommend any youtube videos that might guide me?  I realise I could find them myself but I have no idea what's good and what's bad.Thank you in advance.

You can use the Bodybuilding.com exercise section.  It has a search engine, and it has pretty much every exercise imaginable (plus DB, BB and KB variations), including some really ecclectic $h1t.  Each exercise features step-by-step photos, and a full video of the lift.Great resource.Cory

Gl;itch.e

I'd check out the elitefts "so you think you can bench" and "so you think you can squat" series' on YouTube When you find those you'll probably also find some deadlift technique tips too.

Big +1 on that! Though Im still interested to see what Kiefer is coming up with in conjunction with Vinnie D in regards to finding your best Bench Press leverages.

Cropsy

If I may jump in, I think the Christian Thibaudeau videos on T-Nation are excellent.

thestiffmeister
    Participant