Book Question Thread

• This topic has 5 voices and 12 replies.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Damon Amato
    Participant

p. 19"You can't help but notice the methodical chanting of athletic trainers, nutritionists, and even your friends who watch Oprah religiously."As an Athletic Trainer, I can tell you most of my colleagues don't know more than the two nutrition classes and biochemistry class we have to take in school.  It is utterly apparent that there are a lot of unathletic trainers.  However, those of us who do go for extra education on this subject I think are smarter, being that the focus is entirely on athlete nutrition and performance.  Athletic Trainers, by and large, would not be the medical professional type to ever put a person on a reduced calorie diet.  I know this is more of a statement than question, but I feel like I must defend my field.p. 38“Eating high levels of protein without enough fat or carbohydrates actually accelerates the rate of muscle loss.”I'm guessing this is the beginning of Lyle McDonald's dislike.  I'm assuming you both have specific references on this subject.  Can you tell me why his theories are incomplete or incorrect?I wanted to start this in the hopes that Kiefer will be able to clear up certain things in the book that we are curious about.p. 19"You can't help but notice the methodical chanting of athletic trainers, nutritionists, and even your friends who watch Oprah religiously."As an Athletic Trainer, I can tell you most of my colleagues don't know more than the two nutrition classes and biochemistry class we have to take in school.  It is utterly apparent that there are a lot of unathletic trainers.  However, those of us who do go for extra education on this subject I think are smarter, being that the focus is entirely on athlete nutrition and performance.  Athletic Trainers, by and large, would not be the medical professional type to ever put a person on a reduced calorie diet.  I know this