cardio to shorten reorientation?

• This topic has 5 voices and 9 replies.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

noordinarybag
    Keymaster

I am a noob, but already a low carber, gluten free clean eater, and weight train/cardio.  Planning on starting CNS in the next few days, but tweaking my plan.  I am interested in doing a shorter reorientation.  Kiefer touched on shortening reorientation period by doing cardio in the CNS book. Has anyone done a shorter reorientation by doing cardio the first several days of reorientation?  If so, how many days did you do cardio? What kind of cardio and for how long?  (I was assuming a 30/90 interval repeated 8 times would work?) How many days can you shorten a reorientation to?any suggestions are appreciated.  🙂

mwachtel
    Participant

I believe the shortening from HIIT workouts was in the CBL book, but the idea behind 10 days in CN is that it reducing the enzymes relevant to breaking down carbs, so im not sure if it would be the same mechanism.To be safe, i'd say go the 10 days

Lesli Bortz
    Participant

I found shortening it to be fine since I train 5-6 days a week. If you're lifting and doing HIIT you could shorten it. CNS was created for people who don't train with the same frequency/intensity as CBL. If you're not doing much then you'll need the 10 days.

Brandon D Christ
    Participant

I would say two HIIT sessions, on the first two days will wipe out the glycogen.

Richard Schmitt

Do the full ten days. At first YOU NEED IT! Afterwards you can do 7 days with added HIIT if needed. Why shortcuts?

Lesli Bortz
    Participant

I would disagree if you train intensely. I suppose I could have dropped my training and sat around for those 10 days but I didn't want to. There's no way I wasn't depleted by day 7.NOT suggesting shortcuts but Kiefer DOES give the option to shorten it by doing certain things in the CBL book.

Brandon D Christ
    Participant