Dead Lift

• This topic has 12 voices and 24 replies.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author

joeyode
    Keymaster

I know there is really no substitute for the dead lift, but can anybody recommend something anyway?  Despite being careful and being instructed on proper form, my lower back does not seem to care for that lift.  Executing the form as called for in SW is particularly worrisome for me. Thanks

IronFreakShow

I'm not a professional by any means, so if I'm wrong feel free to correct me. I powerlifted for quite a while and I don't think you’re going to find anything else that will come close to mimicking a deadlift. I don't know your build, and with shockwave he calls for sumo and standard deadlifts, but I'm fairly tall, 6-0' with long arms. Conventional style deadlifts were always extremely hard for me to do, one for a severe lack of hamstrings when I started, but just because of my body type as well. I would work on developing your hamstrings, the reason you may be hurting your lower back is your hamstrings can’t handle the load you're trying to lift, so you straighten your legs entirely too soon. This places ALL the load on your lower back. I say all this because it was my problem for a LONG TIME. I worked on developing my hamstrings by doing light RDL's, rack pulls, lighter sumo lifts, hamstring curls and so on. Deadlifts are a back motion, but require tremendous support from your hamstrings, if those aren’t developed properly your setting yourself up for injury.

bbuchan