Extensive Rep range training

• This topic has 2 voices and 3 replies.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

jason morris
    Participant

I had once posted about “how heavy is heavy” and I'm kind of revisiting that topic again. In order to successfully use CBL we need to have intense muscular contraction. When i think heavy I think in the 1-5 rep range. I mean psycho killer psyche up style sets. Some fear, some doubt and kicking ass under the bar. But the more I look at things like CBL Heavy Duty (which i still don't understand whats HD about it, it's not the split advocated by Mentzer, it's not SSTF and it's not the exercise selection) it's a sound and good progression but the volume and rep range is real high. Bunch of work in the 3×10 range, multiple angles getting worked. I'm still a beginner to strength training but I know if I can work squats and rdls in my 85-95% Intensity range for triples and doubles. If i'm doing 10 rep sets i'm working at 60-75% intensity.   So ultimately if I'm hitting failure or damn close to it does it really matter what exercise or rep range I'm in? Will super isolation routines to bring up the 4th fiber on the right on the sternocleidomastoid that hit failure on the 18th rep still be worthwhile. I imagine the more isolation work in a program, the less you would be able to backload . Likewise, would the high the rep range also mean to lighten your back load.    Not looking for any kind of crazy debate- just bouncing some ideas out there- I've been reading a bunch about Vince Gironda (who had his own stupid simple version of CBL back in the day! Low carb it 3 days, evening of the 4th carb up on pasta or something and repeat) He promotes a ton of isolation work.  Been reading the "celebrity" trainers like Gunnar Peterson and Steve Zim. Typically they advocate real high rep ranges (Zim in particular goes from 6-20 depending on body type)  Mind you- personally strength is important to me, and something I actively train f