Help! Newbie here. CBL

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

lhodson
    Participant

Hello,

I’m a 22 yr old female, 140 lbs pre depletion phase, 16.5% body fat, and weight train 4-5 X’s per week. My question is on CBL and the actual amount of carbs to backload. I know in the book it has a nice little graph for men to use as a baseline for carbs but for women it’s not very clear. I’ve looked online but still no clear answer, I understand it’s something that’s going to take a bit of fine tuning but I was just wanting a fresh set of opinions on where I should start. 100 grams? 200grams of carbs? Opinions wanted.

Thanks,
    LH

James Hodson
    Participant

You sound super hot! 125Grams

Steve Cauffiel
    Participant

I don’t think that chart is so much delineated between male and female, is it? If it was I must have missed that part. That being said, it says there’s two methods to determine baseline carbs: prep phase weight loss and body weight before back-loading. Since you mention your weight (and not prep phase loss) that chart has 490g of carbs as a baseline. Now… I think that’s a weekly total number. “Think” being the operative word as there’s no way you’re going to take in that many carbs daily and not gain. I’d guess you’d divide that total up over the course of your backloads for the week so you get around that by the end of your week.

Hopefully some more folks will chime in but that’s how I’ve always read it and was going to approach it when I switch from CNS to CBL.

Steve

Spatz

Two ways I did it.

1st – I was told to take my normal weekly Carb Nite grams of carbs (~300-350g) and split that number up between my training days. So if I lift 4x weekly, that would be 75-87g carbs per backload.

2nd – Chapter 51, Gender Differences (pg 185) states;

“Eat one carb meal post-training and don’t binge.
    A couple pieces of pizza or a sushi roll or two is more than
    plenty.”