non Carb Nite meal questions

• This topic has 8 voices and 13 replies.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

kvndai
    Keymaster

What fast food restaurants do you recommend are ok for non carb nite nights?I am a college student who is often in class or in the library and do not have the time and means to cook and prepare meals. I often go to walmart and buy cold items such as deli turkey and deli ham, but other than that I cannot prepare meals.I was thinking somewhere like Subway (eat the insides throw away the bread), or Chipotle (customize your bowl), etc. Do you guys have any suggestions?

IOWA.PharmD

1) Jimmy John's “Unwich” (my favorite)2) Chipotle burrito bowl sans rice3) Basically any sandwich place and don't eat the bun!

kvndai

The unwich looks amazing… I think im going to go get that today lolAbout the burrito bowl, do beans count as carbs?

Lasse Elsbak
    Participant

Beans do have a bit of usable carbs in them, along with a lot of fiber.

Karin O’Sullivan
    Participant

Jimmie Johns unwich is great. Also subway does salads so no need to even get the bread to throw away.

lerouquin

Thank you for posting this! I was about to ask the same thing, as I'm craving a little bit more variety and because of the unpredictability of my job, I'm not always able to prepare my meals ahead of time. As for beans, I was under the impression that they are something that should be avoided, as it can be easy to overeat them (at least for me). Looking at Chipotle's nutritional information (http://www.chipotle.com/en-US/menu/nutritional_information/nutritional_information.aspx), it looks like their black beans (especially a double helping if you're not getting rice - like I sometimes do) could push you dangerously close to the 30 carb limit. I am happy to see, though, that guacamole is not off limits for me and that most of their salsas look to be OK. For some reason, I thought tomatoes were not a good idea on low-carb days. Am I wrong here?