Wendler’s 531 – which assistance?

• This topic has 2 voices and 8 replies.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

marcfraz123
    Keymaster

Hi guys,I am very aware of this 'competition' between Kiefer's Shockwave and Wendler's 531 and I am curious as to what assistance you are all doing.I am currently on DB, and looking to gain size. I am in my 2nd week of Wendler's 531 and following the assistance used by Matt Ogus, which can be found here:http://www.simplyshredded.com/rising-star-natural-bodybuilder-matthew-ogus-talks-with-simplyshredded-com.htmlI have seen Wendler's own bodybuilding type of assistance, but he incorporates Deadlifts with Back exercises. Now, legs are a particular weak point of mine, so I have upped the volume to 2x/week as per Matt Ogus's assistance.I am not a beginner with regard to training (5 years experience), although I have only been backloading for approximately 3 months. My push lifts aren't all that strong (I blame it on long limbs!):Squat 1RM = 125kg, Bench 1RM = 90kg + Military 1RM = 60kg. However, my deadlift is strong (again due to long limbs!) 1RM = 210kg.My bodyweight is currently 77kg and I am looking to add at least 6kg over the next 10 months or so. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Marc

BenMarchant